RSS Feed

Percentage

Off round to J.D.’s in a bit to record the newly-relaunching Resolution podcast, so I’ll scrawl something out here now, as I suspect we’ll have a few beers and I won’t want to write it when I get in.

So this is a quick note on scoring. I’m trying to assign a score to a review at the minute, and completely at a loss as to what to give it. It’s the first review commission I’ve had for this particular publication, so I want to make sure I get it right, y’know? (Actually, that’s a lie. I reviewed a little indie game there before. But it’s the first big game I’ve reviewed for them.) They work with a percentage scale, which seems to try to use the absolute fullest amount of that scale. The highest number they’ve ever awarded is 98% (BioShock), the lowest 5% (Xaiolian Showdown). I have absolutely no idea what this means.

With percentages, I’m comfortable in the 90s. That’s the area in which the numbers tend to get really picked over by salivating fans. I can absolutely tell you what the difference between a 93, a 94 and a 95 game is. But what about 53, 54 and 55? It’s pure gut instinct with this sort of degree of accuracy: people don’t tend to debate these differences when you drop below “game of the year material” status. But I’m still always eager to get it right.

Anyway, I’ve just settled on the number. Hopefully it makes some sort of bizarre sense.

One response »

  1. Some good advice I recently received regarding this: now imagine an editor trying to argue you down (even if there’s no reason they would). How far would you budge?

    I have a lot of trouble with scores, so I thought I’d share. I’m sure you’ve got it in hand, obv.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

