RSS Feed

Moving On

Posted on

Two years has flown by. I won’t say it seems like only yesterday when I approached a bunch of people with the view to establishing Resolution Magazine, because it doesn’t. It feels like about two years. But when two years elapses, you realise what a short time two years feels like. If that makes any sense.

Resolution Magazine launched in December 2008, a few months after we decided we were going to do something that hopefully lay a little bit outside what most fansites were doing. Team members have come and gone in the meantime, and the current line-up looks very different to the one we started with. Today, J.D. Richardson and myself remain the only two existing team members from the first issue. Come the end of next week, that two will be down to one.

Deciding to leave Resolution has not been an easy thing to do. It’s my baby. I’ve nurtured it and watched it grow. I’ve dedicated several hours a day to the project for two years. At the most conservative of guesses, that equates to well over a thousand hours of my spare time. As my degree drew to a close, I was very aware of the fact that one of two things were going to happen: either Resolution would become miraculously financially sustainable and allow me to take a wage out of it, or I’d have to seek money elsewhere, meaning less time for Resolution and therefore… you see where this is going.

So while the decision to leave was a terribly difficult one to make, it’s also the only sensible decision I could have taken. I’ve been putting things in train to smoothly hand over the reigns for a while now, but recent developments in what I guess I can now call my career dictated that now is the right time.

Next week will be my last week as Editor of Resolution Magazine. The week after that, I’m going on holiday. When I return, I’ll be starting a new job with a brilliant website, which I’ll talk more about when the time is right. The job’s hours mean that I’ll also be able to continue freelancing, and you’ll be seeing my work start appearing in a couple of magazines in the coming months, as well – again, more on that soon, I suspect.

So games journalism is now something that I can very reasonably call a full-time job. When you’re doing a full-time job, it’s simply not possible to continue doing the same job for free. I wish Resolution’s soon-to-be Editor Daniel Lipscombe, and his soon-to-be-appointed new deputy, the very best of luck. And I hope everyone who’s read the site these last two years will continue doing so, and show Dan and co the support they absolutely deserve. I’m sure they’ll do just fine.

6 responses »

  1. Daniel Lipscombe

    You’ll be missed, mate.

    Reply
  2. Dan summed it up perfectly.

    Thanks for everything 🙂

    Reply
  3. Thanks for all the hard work. You’ve built a great site here Lewis, definitely something to be proud of. Next time you’re in Edinburgh, let me buy you a pint.

    Best of luck to Dan too, taking over the reins.

    Reply
  4. Congratulations on your new gig, Lewis, and I look forward to hearing all about it. I’m cheered by your plans to continue freelancing, because someday I hope that things improve enough around here that you can continue to contribute the odd piece for HonestGamers not as a highly appreciated favor, but as a proper assignment. I can’t say that I’m surprised that you’ve found decent work, only that it should have happened even sooner.

    Reply
  5. Cheers everyone. Your kind words are lovely. 🙂

    Reply
    • Andrew Schultz

      I only saw the tail end of your HonestGamers involvement but was impressed. Then I found out about your work on Reso. I imagine it’s tough emotionally to move on from something you invested so much time and money in. It seems there are others who can fill your shoes & that should give them an opportunity to try/do new stuff as well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

